The Latest DUI Statistics
Posted on Mar 31, 2020 in DUI/DWI
According to the latest data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, (NHTSA), almost 30 people in the United States die in drunk driving accidents every day, roughly equating to one person every 50 minutes. Deaths from drunk driving accidents are so common, in fact, that they account for over a quarter (29%) of all motor vehicle traffic fatalities.
While the number of drunk driving deaths has fallen over recent decades, it remains a widespread and deadly problem, especially in Louisiana. Read on to find out more about the latest Louisiana DUI statistics from a New Orleans DUI lawyer.
Louisiana DUI Statistics
The drunk driving death rate in Louisiana of 5.2 deaths per 100,000 population is higher than the national average of 3.2, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
The percent of drivers who report driving after drinking too much in the past 30 days is also higher, with Louisiana at 2.5% compared to the national average of 1.9%. As with the national average, drunk driving deaths are more common among men than women, with a death rate of 8.3 per 100,000 population for males and 2.4 for females.
According to 2018 data (the latest available from Louisiana State University’s crash data reports), there were a total of 17, 406 DWI cases in the state — a decline of 7.36 from the year before. The top 10 parishes by number of DWI cases were:
- East Baton Rouge (1,515)
- Jefferson (1,207)
- Caddo (1,198)
- St. Tammany (1,062)
- Orleans (1,059)
- Calcasieu (901)
- Lafayette (862)
- Terrebonne (712)
- Bossier (654)
- Rapides (645)
DWIs were most prevalent among the 25-34 age range, accounting for 29.3% of the total, followed by the 35-44 age range at 22.9%. Males were also significantly more likely to face DWIs, accounting for 78.4% of the total. As is to be expected, weekend days (Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays) saw the highest number of DWI cases, while Mondays saw the lowest.
The Consequences of DUIs in Louisiana
The consequences of DUIs in Louisiana include fines, jail time, and suspension or loss of the offender’s driver’s license — not to mention higher insurance rates.
These consequences become harsher depending upon the circumstances of the arrest. For example, a first DWI offense is a misdemeanor, carrying a maximum $1,000 fine and six months of jail time. However, if there are aggravating circumstances — such as a BAC of over .15 or child endangerment — jail time cannot be suspended.
The court may also order the installation of an ignition interlock device, substance abuse treatment, and vehicle forfeiture, in certain cases.
Contact a New Orleans DUI Lawyer for More Information
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in Louisiana, you should act swiftly to secure your rights and minimize the potential damage a DUI conviction can have on your future. To get started on the road to recovery, please contact a New Orleans DUI lawyer at Bloom Legal by using our online form or calling us at 504-599-9997.