Charged with DWI/DUI in New Orleans?
Being arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) is an offense that can impact the rest of one’s life. Louisiana defines “intoxicated” as being under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol. Anyone operating a motor vehicle can be charged with DWI/DUI under Louisiana R.S. 14:98. A first-time conviction of DWI leads to a mandatory fine of at least $300 and up to $1000. First-time offenders must also serve 10 days to 6 months in jail. The severity of the sentence depends on the offender’s Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) at the time he or she is charged with DWI.
A court may reduce a DWI charge or eliminate jail time for a DWI when certain conditions are met. The offender must:
- Complete a driving while intoxicated or sobriety court program
- Meet all of the conditions of his or her probation as required by the court
Why You Should Contact a DWI/DUI Attorney
With assistance from a local attorney at Bloom Legal, you may not have to serve time in jail for a DWI. Probation, including community service and substance abuse programs, is a possibility. In addition, some records of the arrest can be expunged if the court finds the offender guilty, or not guilty under the provisions of Article 894. This is important because job applications and background checks often ask for drug or alcohol related incidents.
Call today at (504) 599-9997 and ask for an experienced lawyer at Bloom Legal to fight for you!
New Orleans Attorney Blog
May 20th, 2013
The members of satirical rock group Spinal Tap may have given up the loud music and the...
Sometimes at Bloom Legal we are fortunate to have contributions from other bloggers around the country that...