How Louisiana’s No Pay, No Play Law Works After a Car Accident
Louisiana’s “no pay, no play” law generally holds drivers who do not have minimum insurance coverage personally liable for their own injuries when involved in an accident, even if they are not to blame for the crash. There are, however, a number of exceptions to the law. Anyone who is uninsured or underinsured and has been injured in a car accident should seek the advice of a seasoned New Orleans accident lawyer.
At Bloom Legal, our New Orleans car accident lawyers help people get back on their feet after a crash with the full compensation available. We are experienced attorneys with a track record of success in the courtroom and through negotiated settlement.
Louisiana Car Insurance Coverage Requirements
Louisiana drivers are required by law to have certain minimum amounts of insurance coverage:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $15,000 per person
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $30,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $25,000
Drivers are also recommended – but not required – to carry at least $1,000 in coverage for medical payments and uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
No Pay, No Play Restrictions and Exceptions
Anyone who does not have the minimal required insurance coverage is significantly limited in the compensation they can get in the event they are involved in an accident.
An uninsured or underinsured motorist can only seek compensation if costs exceed the minimum required coverage. In other words, an uninsured motorist who sustains $20,000 in bodily injuries cannot recover the first $15,000 because this would have been covered by the person’s minimal insurance coverage. The person may be able to recover $5,000, however. If the damages do not exceed the threshold, you will have to pay out of your own pocket for any expenses related to the accident.
There are a number of exceptions to the no pay, no play law. It does not apply to:
- Out of state drivers
- Passengers injured in a collision (unless the passenger co-owns the vehicle)
- Accidents involving parked cars
- Hit and run accidents
- DUI crashes
- Collisions in which the at-fault driver is in the commission of a felony
In these situations, an uninsured or underinsured person who is injured may still be able to get the full compensation for his or her injuries. A seasoned Louisiana car accident attorney can help you understand your rights and explore your options.
Speak with a New Orleans Accident Attorney to See How the Law Can Help You
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car, truck or other accident in Louisiana, we can help. If you are uninsured or underinsured, we might be able to help too.
Our firm regularly takes cases on a contingency fee basis. That means we do not get paid unless we win your case in the courtroom or as a result of a negotiated settlement.
Contact us to schedule a free consultation with an experienced attorney at our New Orleans personal injury law firm.
Hear What Our Clients Have To Say
"This company is one of the most helpful and dutiful law firms in New Orleans. I have met with Seth Bloom multiple times and he has helped with out of several situations I thought had no solution. He made me feel calm, comfortable, and collected. After our first meeting, he established a genuine interest in my position and assured me that he would stand by me. Aside from that, he is one of the most professional lawyers I have dealt with, and I believe his service to be above what people in New Orleans consider to be great service."
Posted By: Zachary Klos