New Orleans Criminal Defense Law Firm to Protect Your Future Opportunities

In New Orleans, many crimes are classified as misdemeanors. Misdemeanors are not as serious as felonies, but being charged with a misdemeanor is much more serious than receiving a traffic ticket or citation. When you are charged with a misdemeanor, you could face jail time and be left with a criminal record that affects future opportunities. You need a New Orleans criminal defense law firm that you can trust with your future, and we live up to that responsibility.

Bloom Legal has extensive experience representing clients who have been accused of misdemeanors.  Our goal is to help you avoid conviction, jail time and a criminal record. Whether we negotiate a plea bargain or defend you in court, we will always fight hard to protect your rights and achieve the best possible outcome.

Our Lawyers Fight Misdemeanor Charges

The difference between a misdemeanor and a felony is that, in general, a misdemeanor crime carries a maximum penalty of one year of incarceration. Since the jail time and fines for a misdemeanor can still amount to serious penalties, you need an attorney who can evaluate your situation, advise you on the best way to respond to your criminal charges, and fight to help you avoid the consequences you could face if found guilty of a misdemeanor crime.

Penalties for Misdemeanors in Louisiana

Unlike many other states, Louisiana classifies misdemeanors simply as all crimes that are not felonies. There is no standardized system for assigning penalties to varies types of misdemeanors — such as Class A, Class B, etc. Although they generally involve jail time of less than one year in a parish or local jail and fines of less than $1,000, the penalties for misdemeanors in Louisiana are specific to each crime. Contact a New Orleans misdemeanor lawyer to discuss your case.

The penalties for some of the most common misdemeanors in Louisiana are:

  • Simple assault (without a dangerous weapon): A fine of up to $200 and/or imprisonment for up to 90 days
  • Aggravated assault (with a dangerous weapon): A fine of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to six months
  • Simple battery: A fine of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to six months
  • Domestic battery
    • First offense: A fine of $300-$1,000 and imprisonment for at least 30 days, but no more than six months
    • Second offense: A fine of $750-$1000 and imprisonment of at least 60 days, but no more than one year
  • Resisting a police officer: A fine of up to $500 and/or imprisonment for up to six months
  • Criminal trespass
    • First offense: A fine of $100-$500 and/or imprisonment for up to 30 days
    • Second offense: A fine of $300-$750 and/or imprisonment for up to 90 days
    • Third offense: A fine of $500-$1,000 and/or imprisonment for at least 60 days, but no more than six months
  • Disturbing the peace: A fine of up to $100 and/or imprisonment for up to 90 days
  • Criminal damage to property worth less than $1,000: A fine of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to six months
  • Minor in possession of alcohol: A fine of up to $100
  • Misrepresentation of age to purchase alcoholic beverages or gain entry to prohibited premises: A fine of up to $200, community service up to 30 hours, and suspension of the violator’s license for 90 days
  • Unlawful purchase of alcoholic beverage by persons on behalf of persons under 21: A fine of up to $500 and/or imprisonment for up to 30 days
  • Obscenity (a.k.a. “lewd and disorderly conduct”): A fine of $1,000-$2,500 and/or imprisonment of at least six months, but no more than three years
  • Theft of up to $1,000: A fine of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to six months
  • Possession of marijuana
    • First offense, up to 14 grams: A fine of up to $300 and/or imprisonment for up to 15 days
    • First offense, more than 14 grams: A fine of up to $500 and/or imprisonment for up to six months

Call Our New Orleans Criminal Defense Law Firm Today

Hiring the best criminal defense team you can find is a smart choice when you face criminal charges because your attorney will guide you through your interactions with the criminal justice system.

After your arrest, you will be arraigned and must plead guilty or not guilty to the misdemeanor charges. You will need to decide if you will go to trial or if you want to negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecutor to reduce your charges or penalties in exchange for admitting guilt. You may wish to enter into a diversion program, available for some first-time misdemeanor offenses, and you will need to understand what programs are available to you. If you decide not to plead guilty, you will need to present your defense in court.

Bloom Legal will be there for you every step of the way, advising you on how best to proceed with your case. We have extensive experience with misdemeanor crimes and we represent New Orleans locals as well as those who were arrested while in town for Mardi Gras or other special events. Our goal is to resolve your case as quickly, effectively and inexpensively as possible, and to minimize the time you spend in court while achieving the best outcome possible under the circumstances.

The difference between a misdemeanor and a felony is that, in general, a misdemeanor crime carries a maximum penalty of one year of incarceration. Since the jail time and fines for a misdemeanor can still amount to serious penalties, you need an attorney who can evaluate your situation, advise you on the best way to respond to your criminal charges, and fight to help you avoid the consequences you could face if found guilty of a misdemeanor crime.

Call Our New Orleans Criminal Defense Law Firm Today

Hiring the best New Orleans criminal defense law firm you can find is a smart choice when you face criminal charges because your attorney will guide you through your interactions with the criminal justice system.

After your arrest, you will be arraigned and must plead guilty or not guilty to the misdemeanor charges. You will need to decide if you will go to trial or if you want to negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecutor to reduce your charges or penalties in exchange for admitting guilt. You may wish to enter into a diversion program, available for some first-time misdemeanor offenses, and you will need to understand what programs are available to you. If you decide not to plead guilty, you will need to present your defense in court.

Bloom Legal will be there for you every step of the way, advising you on how best to proceed with your case. We have extensive experience with misdemeanor crimes and we represent New Orleans locals as well as those who were arrested while in town for Mardi Gras or other special events. Our goal is to resolve your case as quickly, effectively and inexpensively as possible, and to minimize the time you spend in court while achieving the best outcome possible under the circumstances.

To learn more about how we can help defend you against misdemeanor charges, call or contact us online today: 504-599-9997.

Hear What Our Clients Have To Say

This company is one of the most helpful and dutiful law firms in New Orleans. I have met with Seth Bloom multiple times and he has helped with out of several situations I thought had no solution. He made me feel calm, comfortable, and collected. After our first meeting, he established a genuine interest in my position and assured me that he would stand by me. Aside from that, he is one of the most professional lawyers I have dealt with, and I believe his service to be above what people in New Orleans consider to be great service.



(T) 504-599-9997 (f) 504-595-3208

Downtown location
  839 St. Charles Ave
  Suite 310

New Orleans, Louisiana
70130

Contact Us