Two DWIs in 24 Hours
Posted on Jun 4, 2013 in Personal Injury
A 26-year-old woman impressively garnered two DWIs in 24 hours in Slidell this past weekend. Marjorie Portier, a Mississippi woman, was first pulled over at 2:30am Saturday morning after swerving dangerously in front of an officer. Portier had just left a local bar and agreed to take a breath alcohol test, showing her BAC to be more than double the legal limit (.08). Less than 24 hours later Portier was at it again, speeding and swerving, eventually making an illegal turn in front of a different officer on Gause Boulevard. The woman begged the officer, who was previously unaware of Portier’s arrest only hours before, not to take her to jail for the second night in a row. The woman once again agreed to a breath alcohol test, which showed her to be over the limit.
In Louisiana, a DWI is an enhanceable offense. The first offense DWI carries a $300 to $1000 fine and up to six months in jail. Second offense DWI brings a $750 to $1000 fine and between 30 days to six months in jail. A third DWI offense carries a $5000 fine and between one and five years imprisonment.
If you have questions about DWI’s or DUI’s in New Orleans or anywhere in Louisiana then please call Bloom Legal at 504-599-9997 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.