A Guide to Louisana Driver’s License Suspension Periods

Posted on Dec 30, 2013 in DUI/DWI, Local Issues

dui-checkpoint-pic

Period of Suspension

Bloom Legal would like to wish everyone a Happy New Year! Please remember to be safe over the holiday. Drinking and driving is a serious offense that carries both criminal and civil charges. As we have discussed previously, it is the outcome of these civil charges which will determine the status of one’s license.

Under this Louisiana law, you consent to take a breath, blood, or urine test if you are lawfully arrested by an officer who has probable cause to believe that you have been driving or boating while intoxicated. The basis of these laws is the belief that driving is a privilege, not a right. Like all privileges, your privilege to drive can be taken away from you if you abuse it. Many factors can determine the duration of your license suspension. Here is a breakdown of the possible license suspension one faces after being charged with a DWI.

If you are 21 years of age & over and you consent to the breathalyzer test:
If your blow was .08 to .19 then on your first offense you will likely be sentenced to a 90 days license suspension. If it is your second offense or more in 5 years, you will likely be sentenced to a 1 year license suspension.
If your blow was .20 and over then on your first offense you will likely be sentenced to a 2 year license suspension. If it is your second offense or more in 5 years, you will likely be sentenced to a 4 year license suspension.

If you are under 21 years of age and you consent to the breathalyzer test:
If your blow was .02 to .19 then you will likely be sentenced to a 180 day license suspension.

If you refuse the breathalyzer test:
If this your first refusal, you will likely be sentenced to a 1 year license suspension. If you have refused previously within the last 5 years, you will likely be sentenced to a 5 year license suspension.

Every case is different and we cannot predict the outcome of your individual case. It is important to consult a lawyer regarding the facts of your case. Never drink and drive. If you are planning on drinking, always use a designated driver. If you are intoxicated and you do get arrested, please don’t hesitate to call Seth Bloom at Bloom Legal for a consultation. There is nothing easy about dealing with a DWI charge. Let Seth help you through this tough and complicated time by contacting us at 504-599-9997 or email us at info@bloomlegal.com.

You Might Also Like:



(T) 504-599-9997(f) 504-595-3208

Downtown location
  700 Camp Street
  Suite 210

New Orleans, Louisiana
70130

Contact Us