Think Before You Pay That Ticket

Posted on Jul 6, 2016 in DUI/DWI

If you drive a vehicle, it is possible that at some point in your driving experience, you might receive a traffic ticket. Tickets can be given for a variety of reasons, from speeding to parking illegally and everything between.

When you first receive your ticket, you, like most people, may feel pressure to pay the fine immediately. For some, it can be intimidating to receive a ticket. We understand the stress you may feel, wondering how quickly it needs to be paid. But before you write the check or swipe your credit card, there are a few things you should know.

First, paying a traffic ticket fine is an admission of guilt. So if you feel that your ticket was wrongfully given, you owe it to yourself to think carefully before deciding to pay the fine. While paying the fine may feel like the easier option, you can always choose to contest the ticket in court.

What’s at Stake?

By accepting guilt and paying the traffic ticket, you may incur higher car insurance rates, suspended driving privileges, mandatory traffic school attendance, and/or traffic court requirements.

Although Louisiana operates on a no-point system, a public driving record is kept on file for traffic violation convictions. The length for which the state keeps the record varies by violation. Additionally, you must appear in court to fight your traffic ticket. Or, if you choose to pay, you can pay online, by mail or in person.

Speeding Tickets

The cost of a speeding ticket varies by violation. If the driver takes no action before the first court appearance date written on the ticket, there will be an additional $100 late fee charge.

In general, speeding 1-9 miles faster than the posted speed limit currently results in a $157.50 fine. Costs increase from there.

DUI/DWI Tickets

A DUI/DWI arrest has the potential to impact all aspects of your life. Hiring a DUI attorney may help lessen your fines and other penalties.

In Louisiana, a first DWI offense could result in the following:

  • 1-year license suspension
  • $100 fee to reinstate your driver’s license
  • Financial responsibility proven for 3 years after the conviction date
  • Six month (max) in jail
  • Up to $1,000 fine in addition to court costs

A second DWI offense raises the bar:

  • 2-year license suspension
  • $200 fee to reinstate your driver’s license
  • Financial responsibility proven for 3 years after the conviction date
  • 48 hours in jail (mandatory)
  • Up to six more months in jail
  • Up to $1,000 fine in addition to court costs

Third and subsequent offenses can result in substantially more penalties and longer jail time. For instance, third-time offenders can face up to a 3-year license suspension, up to $2,000 in fines and additional court costs, and a minimum of one year in jail, up to five years in prison.

It is clearly in your best interest to avoid repeated DUI/DWI offenses, not only for the safety of yourself and others, but also to safeguard yourself and your family. Multiple DUI/DWI offenses can impact your life in many ways, affecting your credit, career, family and other aspects of everyday living.

Should you find yourself facing a traffic ticket of any kind, contact our New Orleans DUI attorneys for an initial consultation to help you better understand your rights.

  • Joseph Disqus

    Two (2) friends got red light camera tickets at intersection of
    Carrollton & Earhart. They both were turning right at the light and
    there is no sign that says No Right Turn on Red. Curious, went to
    Google Street View and there is no sign
    1) Short URL to camera tickets https://goo.gl/maps/2GkkByT9cF
    2) Is it worth contesting
    3) Who should this be reported to & would it be a waste of time knowing New Orleans

You Might Also Like:



(T) 504-599-9997(f) 504-595-3208

Downtown location
  700 Camp Street
  Suite 210

New Orleans, Louisiana
70130

Contact Us