Compounded Charges for Drunk Driver

Posted on Apr 25, 2013 in DUI/DWI

A Terrytown woman is facing multiple charges after crashing into a parked cop car last month, New Orleans DUI and DWI attorneys report. According to the police, Amanda Davis was driving drunk on a Sunday night when she hit an unidentified patrol car. She left the scene immediately afterwards without stopping to check on either car or driver, but deputies from the Sheriff’s office caught up with her just a few blocks away. After pulling Davis over for a hit-and-run,  police officers determined that the 43-year-old teacher appeared to be intoxicated, and was driving with her two young children in the back seat.

When the officers asked Davis to perform a field sobriety test, she was unable to do so successfully. Additionally, Davis recorded a blood alcohol level of .212. The state’s legal limit is 0.08. Her 7-year-old child was riding without wearing a seatbelt, and her 1-year-old was not in a car seat of any kind. According to state law, toddlers who weigh 20-40 pounds must be secured in a front-facing car seat, and children over the age of six must be buckled in. Authorities also say that Davis threatened the deputy who charged her, “claiming to be a teacher with contacts to people in public school who could harm the deputy’s children.” In a later statement, a spokesperson for the Jefferson Parish Public Schools confirmed that Davis is not a teacher at any district schools.

According to New Orleans DUI and DWI attorneys, the penalties for a first-offense drunk driving charge involve a minimum of 2 days in jail, or 48 hours of community service, a $1,000 fine, and a 90-day period of license suspension (with 6 months suspension for drivers who are underage). The police report did not indicate whether Davis had prior DUI/DWI charges on her record, but her arrest report lists several additional charges from the incident—along with one count of DWI-child endangerment, Davis is charged with hit-and-run driving, improper control of a vehicle, and two counts of failure to properly restrain her children in the car. She was released on a $1,000 bond to prepare for her trial.

New Orleans drunk driving lawyers say that the compounded charges will likely increase the number and severity of penalties that Davis is facing. Under Louisiana law, a driver who is arrested and charged with a DUI/DWI with a child under 12 in the car cannot have his or her sentence suspended, and must serve the minimum sentence for a DUI/DWI charge. For a first offense, the jail time could be up to 10 days. Making menacing statements towards the deputy and his children could cause trouble for her as well, although she was not charged with anything relating to those threats.

DUI and DWI charges can have lasting repercussions, and fighting additional fines and penalties from other charges will require the skills of an experienced drunk driving attorney. If you are charged with a DUI, DWI or child endangerment, contact Seth Bloom at New Orleans law firm Bloom Legal, for a consultation today.

You Might Also Like:



(T) 504-599-9997(f) 504-595-3208

Downtown location
  700 Camp Street
  Suite 210

New Orleans, Louisiana
70130

Contact Us